Fire Emblem Fates Support Conversation: Ignis x Siegbert C

Please Note: The following material obviously spoils some of the story of Fire Emblem Fates. Please read responsibly at your own risk and let’s go eat some wild strawberries.

Here’s the support conversation between Ignis and Siegbert for the C level. (Original Japanese is included for reference and better transparency.)

Comments? Questions? Criticisms? Want to let me if I made a typo or if a better approach would work somewhere? Let me know in the comments below.

Translation start:

Siegbert: Ignis, you really are courageous warrior. / ジークベルト: イグニス。君は本当に勇敢な戦士だね。

Ignis: … What’s with you all of a sudden? / イグニス: …突然、どうした?

Siegbert: You’re always out in the front lines of battle, protecting people … / ジークベルト: 戦場では常に前線へと出て、己の身を盾にして、人々を守る…

I think you’re very model of a soldier. / そんな君の姿は戦士の鑑だと思う。

Ignis: I’m only doing what comes naturally … / イグニス: 俺は当然のことをしているだけだ…

‘Cause all I can do is stick my neck out and hope for the best … / この体を張ることくらいしか、俺にはできないからな…

Siegbert: So it’s natural to stick your neck out for others … / ジークベルト: 体を張るのが当然のことか…

I want to become a brave warrior just like you. / 私もイグニスのような勇敢な戦士になりたいよ。

Ignis: You’ve bought too much stock in me … there are plenty of soldiers who are far superior to me … / イグニス: 買いかぶり過ぎだ…俺より優れた戦士はたくさんいる…

And everyone’s got their own role. You’ve no need to be out in the front lines fighting. / それに人にはそれぞれ役割がある。ジークベルトが前線に出て戦う必要はない。

That’s a role for someone like me … / そういうのは、俺みたいな奴の役割だ…

Siegbert: What do you mean by that? / ジークベルト: どういうことだい?

Ignis: ………… / イグニス: …………

Nah, never mind … forget about it … / いや、なんでもない…忘れてくれ…

Siegbert: Ignis … ? Seems like he wanted to tell me something … / ジークベルト: イグニス…?何か、言いたげだったような…

Translation end!

Translation notes: This is mostly extremely straightforward, but I translated the first use of the word 戦士 (senshi) as warrior, because I figured it just flowed better and was closer to the image of courageous, and the others as soldier because it seemed to fit the meaning/nuance better in those places. It can be translated either way, so I figure why not go with the best for the sentence? In any case, if I need to change anything, you’ll let me know in the comments below, right?

If you want to see the inexplicable Nintendo localization, the Fire Emblem fans at Serene’s Forest have transcribed the official translation of this conversation here.

Changelog: None yet.

(Nintendo owns the copyright to Fire Emblem Fates/ Fire Emblem if and all material on this site is provided under fair use.)

Leave a Reply

