Fire Emblem Fates Support Conversation: Deere x Joker C

Please Note: The following material obviously spoils some of the story of Fire Emblem Fates. Please read responsibly at your own risk and remember to always thank your teddy bears.

Here’s the support conversation between Deere and Joker for the C level. (Original Japanese is included for reference and better transparency.)

Comments? Questions? Criticisms? Want to let me if I made a typo or if a better approach would work somewhere? Let me know in the comments below.

Translation start:

Deere: Well now … all I have to do is pour it and wait … / ディーア: さてと…後は注いで持っていくだけだな…

Joker: Hey, Deere. You were making coffee too, huh? / ジョーカー: おい、ディーア。お前も珈琲を作っていたのか?

Deere: So you’ve put some on too, dad? / ディーア: もしかして、父さんも?

Joker: I’ll bring our comrades in arms the coffee I made. / ジョーカー: 仲間たちには俺が入れた珈琲を持っていく。

You get your own coffee. / お前の珈琲は自分で処理しろ。

Deere: Nah, sorry, but … I’m going to deliver the coffee to them. / ディーア: いや、悪いけど…仲間たちには俺の珈琲を届けるよ。

My coffee is … better than yours. / 俺の珈琲の方が…父さんのよりもうまいからな。

Joker: What’s this? / ジョーカー: なんだと?

Speaking up to your old man with an attitude, are we? / おまえ、父親に向かって、そんな生意気な口をきくのか?

Deere: Didn’t really mean to offend you with the way I said it … I just let the truth leave my lips … / ディーア: 別に生意気を言ってるつもりはない…事実をそのまま口に出しているだけだ…

Joker: Your coffee’s better than mine? And you’re saying that this is just the truth? / ジョーカー: お前の珈琲の方がうまい?それが事実だっていうのか?

That’s quite a careless thing to say considering you haven’t even taken the time to drink my coffee … / 俺の珈琲を飲んでもいないのに適当なことを抜かしやがって…

Deere: I don’t have to drink it to be able to tell. That smell that wafts around your coffee … / ディーア: 飲まなくてもわかるじゃん。漂ってくる珈琲の香りで…

Joker: !? / ジョーカー: !?

Deere: You know exactly what I mean, don’t you dad? Well, I’ve got to go … / ディーア: 父さんだって本当はわかってるんだろ?じゃあ、俺はもう行くから…

Joker: ………… / ジョーカー: …………

Tsk … he’s certainly got me there … / ちっ…確かにあいつの言うとおりだ…

This one time … Deere’s coffee was better than mine … / 今回に限っては…ディーアの珈琲の方が上だった…

But, it’s not going to last. Prepare yourself, Deere! / しかし、このままではすまさんぞ。覚悟していろよ、ディーア。

Translation end!

Translation notes: As you can see from my more literal translation these two are talking to each other like typical family members with an easily familiarity and there isn’t really so much animosity as there is the usual annoyance, amusement and joshing around that goes with some family relationships. There is a lot of additional context in the grammar constructions of how they talk that adds bits and pieces of meaning to the dialogue, so if you’re a beginner at Japanese, you may wonder why I translated things like that.

One of the ones that may trouble some people is the “Didn’t mean to offend you with the way I said it,” and that’s because even though Deere is use the same 生意気 (namaiki) word that means having an attitude not appropriate for your station, this construction of 言ってるつもりはない (itteru tsumori ha nai) is very commonly used as a “no offense” and you simply insert the “offending word” before it. So if someone uses words saying “you’re attacking me,” you simply insert that into that kind of construction and what it really means, “No offense, didn’t mean it that way.”

In any case, there may be some troubles with English fluency or typos or other things you might catch that might make it sound more natural. Let me know in the comments below!

If you want to see how Nintendo quite liberally changed the tenor of the conversation, the Fire Emblem fans at Serene’s Forest have transcribed that here.

Changelog: None yet.

(Nintendo owns the copyright to Fire Emblem Fates/ Fire Emblem if and all material on this site is provided under fair use.)

Leave a Reply

