Fire Emblem Fates Support Conversation: Belka x Benoit C

Please Note: The following material obviously spoils some of the story of Fire Emblem Fates. Please read responsibly at your own risk and put on your socks without an elephant in the room.

Here’s the support conversation between Belka and Benoit for the C level. (Original Japanese is included for reference and better transparency.)

Comments? Questions? Criticisms? Want to let me if I made a typo or if a better approach would work somewhere? Let me know in the comments below.

Translation start:

Benoit: ………… / ブノワ: …………

Belka: ………… / ベルカ: …………

Benoit: ………… / ブノワ: …………

Belka: … You want something? / ベルカ: …何か用?

Benoit: Nah … / ブノワ: いや…

It’s not like I have anything to do … / 用というわけではないが…

I just thought … you’re pretty silent … /お前は…無口な奴だな、と思ってな…

Belka: ………… / ベルカ: …………

I’ll talk when I need too … I won’t if it I don’t need to … / 必要なことがあれば話す…必要がなければ話さない…

Really … that’s all it is … / ただ…それだけのこと…

Benoit: Really … / ブノワ: そうか…

Belka: And … you’re just as silent as me … / ベルカ: それに…無口なのはあなたも同じ…

Benoit: I’m not the same … / ブノワ: 同じではない…

I want to talk … but I can’t seem to wrap my head around the words to say … / 俺は話をしたいが…上手く話ができないのだ…

Belka: So … you’re just clumsy … / ベルカ: そう…不器用なのね…

Benoit: ………… / ブノワ: …………

Belka: But … it has nothing to do with me … / ベルカ: でも… 私には関係ない…

Benoit: You’re right … / ブノワ: そうだな…

Belka: Then … I’ll be going … / ベルカ: じゃあ…行くわ…

Benoit: Next time … / ブノワ: 次は…

Belka: ? / ベルカ:

Benoit: Next time we meet … I’ll prepare some sort of topic to talk about … / ブノワ: 次に会うときは…何か話題を用意しておく…

Belka: … Do what you want. / ベルカ: …好きにすればいい。

Translation end!

Translation notes: I can’t help but wonder if the infamous Belka x Saizou lack of a translation that reduced the entire conversation to a series of ellipses was inspired by this translation. At least if Treehouse had done that to this conversation, it would fit more with the character of it. In any case, again, this is a pretty straightforward one, except I didn’t know quite how to translate 上手く話ができない (umaku hanashi ga dekinai) because it literally means “can’t talk well,” but correct me if I’m wrong but “I can’t talk well” is not exactly natural English? In any case, if you’ve got suggestions for any other things or that part, let me know in the comments below.

If you want to see how Nintendo changed this conversation quite a bit, the Fire Emblem fans at Serene’s Forest have transcribed it here.

Changelog: None yet.

(Nintendo owns the copyright to Fire Emblem Fates/ Fire Emblem if and all material on this site is provided under fair use.)

Leave a Reply

