Fire Emblem Fates Support Conversation: Rinka x Tsubaki B

Please Note: The following material obviously spoils some of the story of Fire Emblem Fates. Please read responsibly at your own risk and don’t slip on Nintendo’s incompetence.

Edited to version 2.0 with reader feedback. (You can find the original version replicated below.) Here’s the support conversation between Rinka and Tsubaki for the B level. (Original Japanese is included for reference and better transparency.) Due to feedback, I am including notes on how I approached translation to better explain the choices I made or any cultural/language concerns. This will be posted after the translation to avoid spoiling or forcing my interpretation before people read the material.

Comments? Questions? Criticisms? Want to let me if I made a typo or if a better approach would work somewhere? Let me know in the comments below.

Translation start:

Tsubaki: Oh, Rinka, there you are. /  ツバキ: あ、リンカー。

Rinka: Well, if it isn’t Tsubaki. What do you want? / リンカ: ツバキか。なんだ? 

Tsubaki: Well, I wanted to apologize. Sorry about the other day. / ツバキ: うん。謝りに来たんだ。
この間はごめんねー。

Here you are worrying over me and it looks like I managed to upset you. / せっかく心配してくれたのになんだか怒らせちゃったみたいで。

Rinka: Oh that? Don’t give it any mind. I wasn’t being very mature about it either.  / リンカ: ああ、あのことか。いや、いい。あたしも大人げなかった。

Tsubaki: I should have said that my approach is to look to the sky for signs of danger, and that’s why I don’t overlook anything major. / ツバキ: あの時は、俺の場合は空から確認してるから見落とさないって言いたかったんだよー。

Rinka: … If you’d take care to look at the earth beneath your feet as well, you might overlook less, I’d say.  / リンカ: …地上からでも、注意していれば見落とすことは少ないが。

Tsubaki: Oh! Now that you mention it, you’re right. It looks like I’ve annoyed you again. / ツバキ: あ、それはそうだねー。なんだかまた怒らせちゃった?

Rinka: … Nah, I wouldn’t go that far. / リンカ: …いや、そこまででもない。

Tsubaki: Well that’s a relief. / ツバキ: それはよかったよー。

It’s gotta be a pain to keep a cool head for life or death decision-making when you get stuck on how people talk. / 会話の言葉遣いに引っかかっていたら冷静な判断は難しいだろうからねー。

Maybe you in particular ought to keep that in mind, eh? / リンカは特に注意したほうがいいかもしれないよー。

Rinka: !! What are you trying to say? That I have a quick temper? / リンカ: !! あたしが怒りっぽいというのか!?

And this how you apologize to people? Don’t make me laugh! / お前、それで謝りに来たつもりか?冗談ではないぞ!!

Tsubaki: Aw, got her stirred up again … I wonder why we can’t just get along? / ツバキ: あ、また怒って行っちゃった…なんだかうまくいかないなー。

Translation end!

If you want to see what Nintendo’s translation was, the Fire Emblem fans at Serene’s Forest have transcribed this conversation here.

Translation notes: As always, Tsubaki’s Japanese is rather crude, curt and informal, so I tried to keep that in the translation. It’s my interpretation that Rinka is referring to her growing feelings for Tsubaki with the line about “looking at the ground beneath your feet,” but I also think she does worry for his safety, because she doesn’t think he’s very level-headed, so I tried to keep both it so both are conveyed. I put the “I’d say” at the end of her statement because the が (ga) construction she uses at the end implies a further argument, but also a relenting that this is just the speaker’s opinion. Got a better way to say it? What say you? How can I improve this? Let me know in the comments below!

Changelog: 3/28/2016 – Made some changes based on feedback, thanks to Meowzette, Immahnoob, Nadya, anonf4321. I really appreciate you guys’ helpful comments. There are no honorifics to change in this conversation. The unedited original translated lines, or version 1.0, are reproduced below:

Rinka: … If you’d also take care to look at the earth beneath your feet, you might overlook less, I’d say.

Rinka: Oh that? Don’t give it any mind. I wasn’t being very mature about it either.

(Nintendo owns the copyright to Fire Emblem Fates/ Fire Emblem if and all material on this site is provided under fair use.)

Leave a Reply

